Full Name:



Choose Course:


Admissions Open 2019

Apply Online

Two Shoolini teams selected at BEST 2016-India

Two out of three teams who had taken part in BEST-India (Biotechnology Entrepreneurship Student Teams) from Shoolini University have been selected amongst the top 20 teams to attend a fully funded five days workshop in Gurgaon.

Association of Biotechnology Led Enterprises(ABLE) organized BEST-India, a national level program organized in association with Department of Biotechnology (DBT, Govt. of India). The aim of the program is to encourage young postgraduate and doctoral students to become biotechnology entrepreneurs and expose them to problems involved in commercialization of bio-science.

Each team comprises of five members. They are guided by their respective mentor. Total three teams from Shoolini University submitted their applications in October 2016. Their applications passed through many rounds of rigorous screening by biotechnology experts. The two teams that made their place in top 20 teams would compete with other teams that are from highly reputed education institutions such as IIT and NIT.   

During five days workshop in Gurgaon, the teams will be taught about concept of biotechnology based business and business plans or proposals. At the end of the workshop, all teams will be allowed to put forth their respective business proposals to jury members that include eminent researchers and corporates. Top 5 teams selected out of 20 teams will be awarded and given the opportunity to put their business proposal before investment bankers during a conclave organized by ABLE and DBT. This competition gives students an opportunity to attract investor bankers to fund their business plans.


Name of the team members and mentor from the selected teams:

Team 1

  • Ms. Amanpreet Kaur(Ph.D. student)
  • Ms. Chandresh Thakur (Ph.D. student)
  • Ms. Tanvi Gupta (Ph.D. student)
  • Mr. Abhishek Bharadwaj (Ph.D.student)
  • Ms. Swati (M.Phil. student)

Name of the mentor- Prof. Saurabh Kulshrestha

Title of entry- Towards development of a better, safe, environment friendly method to purify water using Moringa Oleifera.


Team 2

  • Mr. Ajay Chhantyal (B.Tech. Biotechnology)
  • Mr. Shubam Poudyal (B.Tech. Biotechnology)
  • Ms. Deepika Thakur (B.Tech. Biotechnology)
  • Ms. Preeti Koul (B.Tech. Biotechnology)
  • Ms. Anjali Kashyap (B.Tech. Biotechnology)

Name of the mentor- Mr. Ankur Kaushal

Title of entry- Electrochemical DNA biosensor for the diagnosis of Scurb typhus.